Home > Family Life, Random Thoughts > Homeschooling Is Hard

Homeschooling Is Hard

Today I homeschooled the kids

We homeschool our children.  When I say “we” I mean my wife.  She needed a day to take care of some things and a little mental sanity so I took a day of vacation to be with the kids while she got things done. 

I can deal with playing with the kids.  That is easy for almost any dad to do.  We play very well.  Just look in any dad’s garage and you will find evidence of our ability to play.  Teaching is another story.  I am not a patient person.  Homeschooling takes patience.  My wife has patience and understanding and kindness.  Dads are good at playing.  I have taken the homeschool reins before and failed horribly.  Today went pretty well.  We almost started before I made the first one cry.  Things did settle down after that and it actually went pretty smooth.  I made progress. 

I have the intelligence needed to teach but not the patience or the understanding or the kindness (and by the way, my third grader has the intelligence to teach my first grader).  These other things don’t come easy to me but I keep trying.  My next goal is to make it into the homeschool lessons before the crying starts. 

I appreciate my wife and all that she does.  I also appreciate it more after doing a part of her job for a day.  I would need at least two days to get done what she does in one. 

  1. May 15, 2008 at 7:10 am

    Aww what a good hubby you are to say that. I hope your wife reads this and realizes just how good she is. Oh and I am a homeschooling mom myself. My hubby has helped with lessons before but he is more or less the Principal LOL.

  2. May 15, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    I have a great respect for parents who homeschool their children. I have a friend who does, but as seems to be the trend here I believe is wife is the chief person in charge (smile).

  3. theconservativegeek
    May 15, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    There is good reason for it, too. For me, it really comes down to patience and understanding. I lack the empathy to help younger children understand new concepts. I also run into a roadblock in teaching because my brain operates much differently than most people, some would say it doesn’t operate at all : )

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

