Home > Family Life, gymnastics > Gymnastics and Geekiness

Gymnastics and Geekiness

My son and two daughters, who are sporting their hardware from the meet.

I have hit the pinnacle of my geekdom! I am sitting in a coffee shop downloading something on my girls’ gymnastics coach’s computer and posting on my blog from my blackberry. I have to admit. I love being a geek. My wife even got into the act by homeschooling our son during breaks in the meet
Enough about me, my girls had a meet today in Millersville, MD. It was a smaller meet and the girls compete at next year’s level. Mine are staying level 4. Although the scores were not as high as states, they both collected more hardware than in any other meet this season! I think the judges kept the scores lower to allow the girls room for improvement. I could be totally wrong as it is nearly impossible for me to tell the difference between good and great in this sport. Bad is detectable in any sport.
Back to my girls, My youngest daughter scored a first, third, fourth, and third all around. My oldest scored a second, third, fourth and third all around. The big victory is that my oldest made the podium more today than any other meet, possibly more than she did all season. she couldn’t stop smiling! There are so many things I love about this sport but one of the biggest is that everyone gets their playing time. No matter if your are pulling 9.9s or 5.0s, you get the same amount of time. Don’t get me wrong, you have to have skills to even make it to the team, but once you’re there, you don’t have to ride the bench. All season, my girls have been in the middle or back of the pack and have progressed nicely as the year moved along. This have them a taste of what they might experience next year. They are building crazy strength, strong charictar, and good work habits. It’s nice to collect some hardware every once in a while, too.

  1. June 3, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Hey I am so proud of your girls. I can’t believe how fast they are growing. Its been a joy watching your children grow up. It would be wonderful to see them compete. God bless

  2. theconservativegeek
    June 3, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Thank you! It has also been a joy watching you grow up. I especially am proud of how you stand up for your beliefs. You have a strong spirit!

  3. June 5, 2008 at 10:33 am

    I just came across your blog on a feed. You sound like a great parent. I have a 9-year old in Level 5 USAG and I agree with you on the crazy strength and character-building aspects of the sport. I wanted to let you know about GymMeet. http://www.gymmeet.com . It is a social networking site specifically for gymnastics. It is new, but growing very fast. It is for past and present gymnasts of all ages and levels, parents, coaches, gym owners, and anyone who loves gymnastics. I invite you and any of your readers to join GymMeet. If you like it, please invite others. It’s free and fun. I am also subscribing to your blog; we share many of the same interests. Keep it up.

    Randy Bernard
    GymMeet
    http://www.gymmeet.com

  4. theconservativegeek
    June 5, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement. I will be sure to check out the website and share it with my friends!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

