Home > Random Thoughts > AT&T down, work goes smoother

AT&T down, work goes smoother

We use AT&T (formally Cingular) wireless phones where I work.  Usually, Mondays are pretty hectic.  Today has been a great day!  the cell phone will not work and we cannot stay in the office because the air conditioner quit working.  I think I have accomplished more today than since we were issued cell phones. 

In all seriousness, I have not had time to research what is wrong at AT&T, but it has caused several problems that I am aware of.  In contacting AT&T this morning, we learned that all of Delaware, part of Pennsylvania, and southern New Jersey was down.  I cannot imagine being a contractor or road salesperson and not being able to be in contact with the office or customers.  I know that they tell you that your cellular service is not guarranteed to always work, but in today’s society, we have become dependent upon the use of wireless phones.  My wife will be on the road tonight.  I am glad that she is on Verizon.  I want to know if she breaks down or has a flat tire or just had a bad evening. 

AT&T, it has been nice to have a day off from the phone but let’s get it together.  This isn’t 1996.  Cell phones are not a novelty.  They are a neccesity.  If you want to be a industry leader, then go join the Boy Scouts and be prepared! 

  1. June 9, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Over at my blog, I have e-mail messages accidentally sent to me which seem to show that AT&T knew about the problem at 7am, but did not have techs en route until a few hours later. In either case, techs apparently didn’t even show up until around 11am, four hours after the fact.

    They were also sending AT&T folks to check T-Mobile’s coverage, so that “in theory” AT&T customers could use T-Mobile’s towers for 911 calls, as they’re both GSM.

  1. June 9, 2008 at 2:47 pm

Leave a Reply

