Home > Songs > The Ocean’s Roar

The Ocean’s Roar

Here is one of my favorite songs.  It is intended to be a praise song.  It has never really been used in corporate worship, but I use it in any set that I can work it into and play it quite often during my own times of praise and worship.  I drew from my own experiences when writing this.  I live near the coast so  I have spent my share of time in and around the Ocean.  I have seen the powerful rip currents and been turned around by the waves and didn’t know which way was up.  I remember the first time I saw an eagle flying.  I remember distictly that there were several buzzards that were circling the same general area as the eagle.  At first, they were all at the same height and then as if it flipped a switch, the eagle began to soar far above anything the buzzards could ever dream of.  I have spent time in the mountains and enjoyed the spectacular views that differ so much from the Atlantic coast.  And the first time that I went to New York, I tried so hard not to look like a country boy but I could not escape my roots.  I was truly amazed. 

When I wrote this song, I was trying to think of all of the amazing things that I have experienced and how they cannot even come close to what God is and what He means in my life.  This was back in 2005.  As I look back at how much God has brought me through in the last three years, the words mean so much more today than ever.

Verse 1
I’ve heard the ocean roar I felt its power as I stood in it’s waves
I’ve seen the eagle soar I saw its strength as I watched it fly away

Bridge
But of all the things I heard and seen
There’s only one thing compelling me
To fall down on my knees in praise

Chorus
You are God over all I see You’re all I need
You alone are worthy of my praise
More than words of the songs I sing, my offering
A life of praise I bring to You today

Verse 2
I’ve climbed the mountains high saw the beauty of the valley in my view
I’ve seen the city sky and the grand design and buildings man can do

All songs

Categories: Songs Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 20, 2008 at 10:22 pm

Leave a Reply

