Home > Politics, Random Thoughts > So can you secede from a town?

So can you secede from a town?

We recently looked at  a very nice home and quickly ruled it out because it was the last house inside town limits.  With town water, sewer, and taxes, it added over $200 per month to the cost.  So it made me wonder, can you secede from a town?  A quick Google search showed me that I was not alone in my thoughts.   It has been done by at least one condominium complex in Pennsylvania and is being considered by another in New York.  (http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9B0DEFDA1431F93AA35752C1A961948260)

My question is can one homeowner secede?  There have been many towns that want to secede from their state.  I know there are advantages to being part of a town and that those advantages come at a price, and for me, they are not a good value. 

My question goes much deeper than just pure economics.  What about political and regulatory issues?  I am, for the most part,  a far right social conservative but I have very libertarian views on property ownership.  I have a hard time paying the town a fee so that they will allow me to make improvements on my property.  Uh, thank you?  I understand the need for safety and good citizenship but we have become this nanny state society where everyone must be protected from themselves and have government watch over every move.  I have said it before and I will say it again, at the very least, our forefathers would be disgusted at what our country has become.  I fear that they would label us all Tories.  I find that my desire for independence does not fit well with municipal living. 

So, can someone legally secede from a town?

  1. c'line
    May 17, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    I want to secede from a school district. Have you found out anything else? Town taxes are nothing compared to school district taxes.

    • theconservativegeek
      May 19, 2010 at 10:19 pm

      No, I really have not pursued it. While we were able to sell our house and move, we chose a house outside town limits. I am never a fan of taxes, I am happy to say that in Sussex County, Delaware, all of our taxes are reasonable and I hope that it stays that way for generations to come.

  1. September 27, 2008 at 9:38 pm

Leave a Reply

