Home > Random Thoughts > Still A Lot To Learn

Still A Lot To Learn

One thing that I hate to do is repeat hard lessons, so I am always looking at what I can learn from difficult situations.  Socrates said that to know is to know that you know nothing.  That is meaning of true knowledge.  It seems like I am learning that lesson over and over again.  It’s amazing how much less I know today than I did even three years ago.  God has really been showing me that I really don’t have it all figured out and all things cannot be wrapped up in a nice little package with a neat bow on top.  That’s okay.  I’m not a big fan of pretty little bows anyway.

I am still learning plenty from the recent health drama episodes.  You may have never met someone who is so happy to see green fuzzy objects, but I can say that I was truly excited when I was able to make out that a person was standing in front of me with my right eye.  I have also never been so grateful for one good eye.

But deeper than the physical aspects of my condition, are the things that have been rolling through this cranium of mine.  I have been forced to be still.  I don’t like to be still.  However, I have rediscovered the love that I have for music and have spent more time with my guitar in the last week than I have, outside of church, in a very long time.  It is amazing how an acoustic guitar and an uplifting song can change a mood.  I am sure that new songs will come out of this time as soon as my mind is clear enough to wax poetic again.

I am learning that my strength does not come from my physical being.  Quite frankly, my strength does not even come from within me at all.  I have always been aware of that, now I am seeing it to be true.  It is one thing to say that you depend on God and it is another when you actually do.  I am grateful that I able to learn these lessons in relatively minor incidents.  Let’s be real honest, although no one wants to have any kind of surgery or medical condition, a few days of being blind in one eye and having to keep your face down for a week a really small in the grand scope of medical conditions.  Still, it tested my strength and removed my ability to rely on myself to meet my basic needs.  I would much rather learn that I need those around me through retina re-attachment than open heart surgery.

I am learning that things are often times much more complicated than they first appear.   Besides the eye, there are so many times that I go into things thinking I have a grasp on what is going to happen only to be so far from reality.  I’m growing okay with that.  I guess I’m getting old, but I am okay not knowing everything.  I realize that the world keeps spinning around even if I do not have all the answers.  Occasionally, it still slows down a little, but that is happening less and less.

All in all, I am learning a lot about myself and learning that the more I learn, the less I really know.

Categories: Random Thoughts Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

